Getting back into the swing of things.

September 10, 2008 at 12:36 am 1 comment

After a hiatus of 2 months I figured that it was time to get back into building sticks again. I have three sticks already in progress, two painted MDF and a Jatoba case. However during my time off I managed to acquire a few choice pieces of lumber. One I am just beginning to work with, Narra. Narra is the tree that produces the very beautiful burl called Amboya. I was able to get two turning blanks that were just the right proportions, 2 1/4″ x 2 1/4″ x 14″ When they arrived they were completely covered in wax. I scraped off the wax except for the ends so the wood could acclimate to my workshop. That was 3 weeks ago. Tonight I cut one of the billets into planks on my table saw.

I didn’t want to mess this one up because I didn’t have much room to play with. I wanted to get 4 planks out of each billet. Taking into account the saw kerf I tested the cut on some scrap MDF. Good thing I did test as I had mis measured the fence position and the first piece was too thick by 1/4″. So I reset the fence and tested again. This time I ended up with the proper thickness plank, 7/16″ Being a little nervous I went ahead and cut the billet. The first three planks were perfect. The remaining plank was still a bit thick at about 3/4″. This was way to close for my comfort level to cut. After a moment of thought I used a scrap piece of MDF as a feather board to push the remaining plank through the saw. Again perfect and it left me a thin piece of veneer. I might use it for inserts on the side buttons of the stick.

The billet that I was working from was a real dark red with black grain lines running throughout. Once I cut the first plank I was on cloud nine. The inside of the billet was a bright reddish orange. I couldn’t wait to see what the wood would look like finished. I took one plank and put one coat of tong oil and the result just sent my spirits even higher. Here are some pictures of the planks.

PhotobucketPhotobucket

I have asked someone to create some artwork for this stick. If you are familiar with Japanese Animation or Manga you will recognize Naruto. He is the main character that I am looking for in the artwork for this stick.

Game On!

Entry filed under: Joystick, Narra, Naruto.

Video Game Day

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Brad Ferguson  |  September 10, 2008 at 2:54 am

    welcome to the wonderful world of woodworking blogs!!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


He who works with his hands is a laborer.
He who works with his hands and his head is a craftsman.
He who works with his hands and his head and his heart is an artist.
– St. Francis of Assisi
Where do you fit?

Post History

Blog Stats

  • 19,666 hits

