First Hand tools

September 15, 2008 at 12:36 am 1 comment

I have been getting more into using hand tools such as scrapers and planes instead of sandpaper. I have to say that the surface left behind by a well tuned plane or scraper is much better then sandpaper. I am a member of a few wood working forums and one that I frequent is Woodnet.net. So I decided to ask my fellow woodworkers what got them started using hand tools. The thread can be read here. http://www.forums.woodnet.net/ubbthreads/showflat.php?Cat=&Number=3857262&page=0&view=collapsed&sb=5&o=

Most people are going way back to their childhood and the toy tools they started with. One recent post was even about a toddler’s toy where you pound dowels though a frame. Then flip it over and do it again. Then there are others that got their start like I did. They inherited one or several hand tools from a relative. After looking at the tool(s) for a few years they decided to learn how to use it.

Learning how to tune and use hand planes has been an interesting experience. One that has opened the door to new friendships and acquaintances via membership in a local woodworking club. For those of you reading this if you are interested in woodworking hunt down a local woodworking club and attend the meetings. The folks that are members of these clubs are very willing to share their knowledge. This month’s meeting for my local club was a trip to a sawyer where he showed us how he cuts up a log for lumber. Other meetings discussed different methods of finishing. There were also demonstrations on how to tune hand planes and scrapers. This last item is where I got deeply involved with hand tools. I started with my grandfather’s hand plane and now my herd has grown to to an even dozen. I still need to work on a few of them and I am looking for more.

Post a comment and let me know how you got started in woodworking.

Game On!

Entry filed under: Tools.

Video Game Day Artwork for the Narra Case

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Eric  |  September 15, 2008 at 2:31 am

    For me it was just to have a hobby that didn’t involve the computer! I really blundered my way for the first few years, but once I settled on a neanderthal workshop things have been going much more smoothly.

    (I’ll be podcasting soon and will probably talk about this more over there!)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


He who works with his hands is a laborer.
He who works with his hands and his head is a craftsman.
He who works with his hands and his head and his heart is an artist.
– St. Francis of Assisi
Where do you fit?

Post History

Blog Stats

  • 19,652 hits

