Construction Design

September 19, 2008 at 6:09 pm Leave a comment

I’ll be building this a bit differently then my other cases in the past. Partly because of the wood I am using. The billet only allowed me to get boards that were just over 5/16″ thick in the rough. After planing they should be right at 1/4″ thick. I am glad that I ended up doing this because the other billet didn’t have the beautiful redish orange color. I cut it open last weekend and the inside is just a dull brown. It still has the figure but not the color.

Because the boards for the sides are quite thin I need to back them up to give them some additional strength and weight. When some guys get whaling on these joysticks light weight sticks just won’t cut it. The thin boards also don’t give me much gluing surface in the corners. I plan on backing the Narra with 1/2″ MDF. This will give the case the additional weight and support it needs. I will also be building this with straight sides instead of my normal sloped sides. Here is a cross section of the planed construction.

You will see that the artwork is sandwiched in between two pieces of 1/8″ plexiglas. This is hopefully to help me with some lighting effects that are still in the planing stages. Tat guy and I are still working with the artwork so nothing to post on that front. Hopefully after this weekend I’ll be able to start spending some time in the shop working on this again.

Game On!

Entry filed under: Joystick, Narra, Naruto.

Artwork for the Narra Case Chicago Cubs Clinch Championship

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


He who works with his hands is a laborer.
He who works with his hands and his head is a craftsman.
He who works with his hands and his head and his heart is an artist.
– St. Francis of Assisi
Where do you fit?

Post History

Blog Stats

  • 19,666 hits

