From “Narly” to Beautiful

September 25, 2008 at 2:36 am Leave a comment

Thanks to a suggestion from fellow lumberjock alanealane (Alex) I was able to get the boards flat and ready for the next stage of construction. Alex suggested that I use a router to re flatten the boards.

Here is a picture of my setup. I had a Narra board clamped between two pieces of cherry. This was set on top of two more boards of cherry to give the clamps room. Then the clamps were clamped to my workbench. The router left no tear out and only a few tool marks that were easily removed in the next stage of the preparation. Once I build a proper workbench this setup will be much easier to accomplish using dogs and the face or tail vice.

The boards started at 3/8″ thick I took about 1/16″ off one side of all 4 boards. Then lowered the router another 16th and ran over the other side of the board. I flattened both sides in this manner. Following the suggestion of several users at WoodNet I went straight to my scraper and lightly ran across the entire face of each board to remove the marks left behind.

Here is the end result four 4s4 boards. Each board is now 1/4″ thick and ready for the next stage of construction. Thankfully I had planned for 1/4″ thick boards in my initial plan. If you doubt me look at my Sept 19th post Construction Design

I want to thank everyone for your suggestions and ideas. I would have never achieved this without all of you out there on the internet.

Game On!

Entry filed under: Joystick, Narra.

Stock Prep Woes Construction Begins

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


He who works with his hands is a laborer.
He who works with his hands and his head is a craftsman.
He who works with his hands and his head and his heart is an artist.
– St. Francis of Assisi
Where do you fit?

Post History

Blog Stats

  • 19,666 hits

