Design idea, Input needed

October 14, 2008 at 4:09 pm 4 comments

My Narra wood case is bothering me a bit. It took me a while to pin it down but the corners are not well done. If you click on the photos in the previous post you will see a larger version of them. The corners have a distinct dark line where the two boards meet. I think that this was caused during glue up. The MDF swelled when the two pieces were glued separating the Narra at the miters before the glue dried. I filled it in using CA glue but it left the dark line you can see.

An idea that I have is to cut in a piece of ebony leaving it proud of the surface. I was also thinking of allowing the ebony to protrude below the bottom about 1/2″ giving the case some feet. Below is an image that I quickly drew up to give you an idea of what I am thinking about. The top image is a top-down view of the case as it sits now. The other two images are what I am thinking of doing.

Please leave comments to this post letting me know what you think if the design change.

Game On!

Entry filed under: Joystick.

Why Custom Built Joysticks? Out of my league

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rick  |  October 14, 2008 at 4:44 pm

    If you’re going to do some ebony inlay work, I probably wouldn’t suggest something that sits proud of the surface. I think that a thin strip (maybe 1/8″) inlay in all of the visible joints would look nice. If that is flush with the surface, it covers any inconsistencies with the joints and doesn’t get in the game player’s way while handling the stick (if that could be a problem…).

    If you end up going with a small blank of ebony sitting proud of the surface, I’d probably round it over smooth.

  • 2. Shannon  |  October 14, 2008 at 4:57 pm

    I think this is a great idea to hide the flaw. What I would recommend is playing with the shape of the legs. Go for the asian flair and add a curve along the sides and and angle the top of the leg upward and make it proud of the case top. Think Marc’s gadget station. I would not extend the legs more than 1/2″ below or above the case though so as not to interfere with usage.

  • 3. Michael  |  October 14, 2008 at 5:08 pm

    I was thinking of rounding the corners like I did with the rest of the case. Most players use these in their lap or on a surface (floor or table).

    If anything the feet would cause the problem. I normally put little rubber feet on the bottom of the case and would add them to the ebony feet but I don’t know if it would still be a problem or not.

    Thanks for the input Rick.

  • 4. Michael  |  October 14, 2008 at 6:57 pm

    Shannon,

    I’m not sure about extending them above the top. This case is only 9×12 so they might interfere with usage. I had only planned on a 1/2″ foot though maybe rounding them out before final mounting

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


He who works with his hands is a laborer.
He who works with his hands and his head is a craftsman.
He who works with his hands and his head and his heart is an artist.
– St. Francis of Assisi
Where do you fit?

Post History

Blog Stats

  • 19,609 hits

