Out of my league

October 17, 2008 at 4:29 pm Leave a comment

This design change is not going to be an easy one for me to pull off.  I am definitely out of my league in woodworking skills.  I tried to do this with a small walnut test box.  I used my Japanese Ryoba saw and my cuts were jagged, rough and not square.  Thank goodness I did a test piece instead of the Narra case.  While
this case is a small amount of wood it is still a very fine piece of nature
and I would hate to ruin it trying something new. 

I guess the time has come to practice using my Japanese saws.  My Japanese Dozuki “Z” saw is more for dovetail cuts so would be a better choice.  I was looking at Woodcraft.com at their Japanese saws and see that they carry a Beading saw.  While it doesn’t have as many TPI as the “Z” saw it is smaller and thiner and should be easier to handle for these fine cuts.  I might have to order one to add to my collection.  A well tuned shoulder plane would also be a good tool to use for cleaning up the cuts but I don’t have one.  Next option is a piece of 180 grit sandpaper on a square block wich is what I will more than likely use. 

Entry filed under: Joystick, Narra.

Design idea, Input needed Home Improvement

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


He who works with his hands is a laborer.
He who works with his hands and his head is a craftsman.
He who works with his hands and his head and his heart is an artist.
– St. Francis of Assisi
Where do you fit?

Post History

Blog Stats

  • 19,652 hits

