Progress report

October 26, 2008 at 11:47 pm Leave a comment

This weekend has had it’s ups and downs. Friday night I stained the balusters for the stairs. Not a happy ending there. The poplar wood blotched like nobodies business and $100 into the fire pit. I asked around and did some researching. I found that aniline dye would be a good idea. Since I had a nice selection on hand I decided to give it a try. Mixing up a few different colors to get the one I was looking for took most of a day of trial and adjustment. Even though I have to get new balusters we now have a winner.
Saturday the guys were supposed to come and help hang drywall in the other half of the basement, they didn’t show. I used that time to do some work on the Narra case. I now have the ebony corner blocks installed. I did some warm up sawing on a piece of pine to get the lines straight and smooth. Then I went to the case. Taking it slow and letting the saw do all the work I got some nice straight smooth lines. I still had to use a chisel and sandpaper to get the cutouts the right shape but I got it done. I am still trying to find an artisit to do the artwork I want for the case so I can’t do anything more until I get the artwork done.

The guys did show this afternoon and we got most of the drywall hung on the ceiling. ?There are a few small areas that I can handle myself left. Now all I need to do is finish screwing the sheets in place and apply joint compound. There are a few places that I need to do a little framing such as around the last of the of the HVAC pipeing and a little plumbing. I still see the chance to get the floor done in time for the party. Even with the minor setback with the stain for the stair railing.

GAME ON!!
Entry filed under: Home Improvement, Joystick, Narra.

A package arrives Oh the Woes of Home Improvement

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


He who works with his hands is a laborer.
He who works with his hands and his head is a craftsman.
He who works with his hands and his head and his heart is an artist.
– St. Francis of Assisi
Where do you fit?

Post History

Blog Stats

  • 19,662 hits

