Time to Change Gears

November 29, 2008 at 2:54 pm 2 comments

Now that the basement is finally finished with floor and all drywall in place I can change gears back to old projects and start new ones. Currently on the front burner is to clean up the shop and get it organized. I also need to find items that I am no longer using or have duplicates of and sell them off. These items will go up on Woodnet then eBay. Part of the organization process is to create a more streamlined process of construction for my standard cases.

Special thanks goes out to Shannon Rogers who pointed me in the direction of some help setting up my compound mitered corners. His podcast The Renasance Wood Worker episode #12 covers small production runs is full of information. This will help me get production up to speed.

My Narra case is still waiting on artwork but the case is finished. As soon as the art is done I can finish drilling the holes in the top and start on the electronics. In the meantime I have started a Bubinga case in a similar style. The Bubinga case will feature most if not all of my wooden customizations. This means a Bubinga top panel and Bubinga inserts in the buttons. If I can get a block of Bubinga I’ll turn a ball top and dust cover.

Also moving to the front burner is my Wife’s jukebox. This will be a Wurlitzer style case including LED lighting. The final project on this list is to build my arcade machine a proper case and control panel. I think that about covers it for now.

GAME ON!!!

Entry filed under: Home Improvement, Joystick, Misc..

Guest Apperance on The Sawdust Chronicles An evening in a Real Shop

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. thewoodshepherd  |  November 29, 2008 at 5:06 pm

    There’s a certain joy that comes with finding (or getting back to) your focus, so that you can streamline and throw your energy in the direction you want to be heading, isn’t there? Even if it’s still a bit uphill? Glad to know you can get back down to biz, Micheal!

  • 2. Michael  |  December 1, 2008 at 8:54 pm

    Thanks for the comment Mack. I still have problems keeping my focus once I get it but I am taking steps to remedy that issue as well.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


He who works with his hands is a laborer.
He who works with his hands and his head is a craftsman.
He who works with his hands and his head and his heart is an artist.
– St. Francis of Assisi
Where do you fit?

Post History

Blog Stats

  • 19,652 hits

