Room to work

December 15, 2008 at 3:31 am Leave a comment

Finally after 4 week ends worth of work I have my shop back in some semblance of order with room to work. I can actually walk around my little shop now instead of just turn around in one spot. The drill press/bandsaw table has been mounted on wheels so it can be moved if I need to.

I also did some work on improving the dust collection by running hoses to the drill press, bandsaw and router tables. My shop vac has plenty of power to keep them rather clean. I can also connect it to my hand held router. The amount of free flying dust in my shop will be much less now which will make my wife very happy.

The workbench has not been this clean in quite a while even with the current projects stacked on it there is still room to work. Those cases are my first batch of standard cases in quite a while and it feels good to get back in business again. I still need to tweak my setup to cut the compound miters as they are not quite dead on yet. The top case in the stack is for a custom order. The other 4 will be offered for sale without controls (blank).

I was able to get the corner blocks installed on the bubinga case. I am using curly ambrosia maple as the accent wood on this one. I still have to sand it down to take care of a few scratches and polish it up. Then to apply the finish, turn the balltop, shaft cover, dust cover and install the veneers in the buttons. Then I can install the controlls and put it up for sale. So in otherwords I am about halfway done with this case.

Entry filed under: Tools.

A Customer's Shining Moment First Production Run

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


He who works with his hands is a laborer.
He who works with his hands and his head is a craftsman.
He who works with his hands and his head and his heart is an artist.
– St. Francis of Assisi
Where do you fit?

Post History

Blog Stats

  • 19,609 hits

