Progress and Delays

March 16, 2009 at 4:18 am Leave a comment

It has been a while since I posted anything on this blog.  So I thought I had better do something about it.  I had planned this post to be the first one on my new site but as you will see so go the best laid plans of mice and men.

The tax man comeith and the money goith.  This year is even more important at my house because my daughter needs me to finish our income taxes so she can file her financial aid papers for college.  So I have been splitting my time between custom sticks and doing paperwork.

This split has slowed down both tasks quite a bit.  Though it has not stopped progress all together.  Today was one of those split days where progress was made on both fronts though not as much as I had hoped or in all the areas as I had planned.  I started out the day working on one stick changing out the top panel for a different layout.  I was able to get the top MDF and plexiglas fit and the holes marked out.  I also swapped the bottom panel for plexi.  That is when I switched to do some paperwork.

Later in the day I went back to the shop to start planing a tiger maple case.  I figured that it would only take an hour or so.  Boy was I wrong.  The curl was so tight that almost everything I tried would tear out chunks instead of nice fine curly shavings.  I was not about to give up because sanding would cloud the beautiful curl in the wood.  About 5 hours later I was finally done shaping and smoothing the wood without sanding.

Next it was to the drill press to cut the holes for the side buttons.  Then to the router table to square up the inside to the top, add the rabbit for the bottom panel and round over the button holes.  Finally I added the first coat of dye and called it a night.  The picture gallery bellow shows the case and the progress that was made.  Click on a picture to see a larger version.  Click on the larger version to see the full size image.

Entry filed under: Joystick.

Final Update New Website

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


He who works with his hands is a laborer.
He who works with his hands and his head is a craftsman.
He who works with his hands and his head and his heart is an artist.
– St. Francis of Assisi
Where do you fit?

Post History

Blog Stats

  • 19,609 hits

