Why do I build custom joysticks?

April 29, 2009 at 8:51 pm Leave a comment

I came home from work tonight to an email from a receint customer.  I worked with Joe on his custom joystick for nearly 2 months.  During that time I keep him up to date with pictures of the progress.  About 5 weeks into the build he sends me an email stating that he wanted to change the artwork.  I told him that it was no problem because I don’t print the artwork until I am ready to install the controls.  This way the print does not get damaged or lost while the case is being built.

His second version came and I looked it over.  It was a good job but knowing how my printer works I gave him some suggestions for changes.  We went back and forth for about a week or so going over about 4 revisions before we were both happy with the result.  Once I was satisfied with the finish on the case I moved into the final stages of construction.  Namely cutting the top and bottom panels and the plexiglas to protect the art.  My son Spencer gave me a hand on installing the controls and wiring them up.  Finally the case was done and shipped off to Joe.

That brings us back to the email I received today.   Joe had received the package and went immediately to play some of his favorite games.  He was able to pull off moves that he had never been able to accomplish before using game pads or commercial sticks.  You can tell by reading the letter that he was completely satisfied with the end result.  It is replies like this that keep me coming back for more.  I don’t get to play my favorite games much anymore but I can still live it through customers like Joe.

GAME ON!!!

Here is an excerpt from Joe’s letter with pictures following.

Michael,

I got the stick today. I cannot express in words how happy I am with it. It is a masterpiece, a lovely unique work of art, and it works perfectly. I really like the feel of the stick and buttons: they are miles ahead of anything else I’ve had. I can even do Ibuki’s toughest combo in 3rd Strike, which I have never been able to do on any other stick.

Thank you very much for your time, patience with us, and genuine concern. This is truly a stick by a player for a player, which is what I really wanted. I didn’t want one from a company again.

-Joe

Entry filed under: Fighting Games, Joystick. Tags: , , , .

Restock Wood Workers Safety Week: Unseen Dangers

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


He who works with his hands is a laborer.
He who works with his hands and his head is a craftsman.
He who works with his hands and his head and his heart is an artist.
– St. Francis of Assisi
Where do you fit?

Post History

Blog Stats

  • 19,652 hits

