Shop Safety First Even With Hand Tools

October 2, 2009 at 11:26 am Leave a comment

Back last spring was woodworker’s safety week.  Well it looks like I need to review the information again.   I stabbed myself in the hand last night with a chisel.   I was working on a joystick case doing some fine adjustments to some of the interior to fit all the electronics.  No clamps and a freshly honed chisel.  I was pushing the chisel with my left hand and holding the case with my right.   The chisel slipped and cut into the meaty part of my right palm. It went deep enough to damage the muscle so only time will tell.  I still have feeling and movement in all digits so I should recover most if not all use.

However work needs to continue.  I’ll be bringing Christian back into the shop.  This time I’ll be giving him more supervision and instruction so quality is not hurt.  I’ll post progress reports here on my blog so I don’t over use my hand by writing emails to everyone.

Game On!

Entry filed under: Joystick, Tools, Woodworking.

It has been a while October Restock

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


He who works with his hands is a laborer.
He who works with his hands and his head is a craftsman.
He who works with his hands and his head and his heart is an artist.
– St. Francis of Assisi
Where do you fit?

Post History

Blog Stats

  • 19,652 hits

