Playing Catch Up

November 17, 2009 at 2:22 pm Leave a comment

October was not one of my better months. I lost a good two weeks of work at my day job and at home.  First it was because of my accident with a chisel.  Second it was getting caught with bronchitis.   Also while I was sick my website was hacked several times in quick succession.  This caused me to loose my host.  The search for a new host and new site design took me away from the shop even more.

So to try and catch up I have been burning the candle at both ends and paying the price. Last night I tried to get busy on my lathe and had nothing but failure. Each piece I put on the spindle was off center, off balance and catching my tools at the wrong time. The catches were of course at the end just before I was to begin sanding. The resulting gouge was too deep to salvage.  After the third failed attempt I called it quits and went to bed early.  The night was a total strike out.

To my customers that have been waiting on me for orders I apologize. Feel at ease that you will be the last ones that I will do custom work for.  I will be in touch with each of you individually over the next few days.  From now on I will be producing cases on my time when I have time. Same with my wooden ball top sets. I have way to many irons in the fire and I have gotten burnt out.

This all started this summer when I ended up agreeing to more custom orders than I normally like to have at one time.  I still have two or three from that time frame.  More recently to try and catch up on a few bills I took on a few more smaller jobs.  This was a mistake.  It just added more fuel to the out of control fire that has been my life.  Again to my customers I apologize.

I hope to have a more happy post to publish in the next few days.  I am anxiously waiting a custom order that I finished to arrive at it’s destination.  Once that happens there will be an article posted elsewhere and I will put up a post here at the same time to celebrate this particular accomplishment.

Until then, Game On!

Entry filed under: Joystick, Woodworking.

Woodworking Icon Retires? quick update

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


He who works with his hands is a laborer.
He who works with his hands and his head is a craftsman.
He who works with his hands and his head and his heart is an artist.
– St. Francis of Assisi
Where do you fit?

Post History

Blog Stats

  • 19,662 hits

