Going back to school

June 4, 2010 at 3:55 pm Leave a comment

I have decided it is time to change carers.  I have been a computer programmer for 15 years.  Unfortunately I have had to be a jack-of-all-trades, master-of-none for the past 8.  This caused me to try and keep up with advancements and changes in several aspects of programming.  From databases to web design to windows applications I had to do it all.  This has caused me to burn out and go into depression.  I have been under treatment for the past 4 years and currently on medical leave.

This time off has given me a chance to look back and find something that has always been interesting to me, electronics.  You may have seen some of the aspects of this interest in my joystick creations.  I have been looking at colleges and universities for the past two weeks.  I wanted a 4-year bachelors degree in Electronics Engineering but nothing appropriate is offered at any of the schools in my area.  So I pointed my search to online schools and classes.  Only one met my needs and my price range, DeVry University.

The representatives I have been in contact with have answered all my questions and guided me through the application process.  They have made the process as painless as can be.  With what I have learned about the university and what they have leaned about me it is a perfect fit for all.  I have enough Financial Aid to pay for my classes, books and materials.  This is done though the Pell Grant and Staford Loans, however there is no more.  I need to keep a roof over our heads, food on the table and all bills paid.  We have also gathered a large amount of credit card debt in the last few years and no savings.

So now I am looking for additional funding to cover these expenses while going through the classes at DeVry.  I am a 42 year old white male which takes out any help from sources for minorities and I have never been in the military.  I also have two children in college with a third in another two years plus my 11 year old son.  If anyone has information on sources for additional grants and/or financial help for us please add a comment to this blog.  I will still be reviewing the comments before allowing them to be viewed by everyone.  This will keep the comments clean and appropriate to this post.

Thank you for your help in our future.

Entry filed under: Electronics.

The Lights have gone out

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


He who works with his hands is a laborer.
He who works with his hands and his head is a craftsman.
He who works with his hands and his head and his heart is an artist.
– St. Francis of Assisi
Where do you fit?

Post History

Blog Stats

  • 19,662 hits

